June 2, 2021 Annual Meeting LWV/JFC

The virtual Annual Meeting of the LWV/Jacksonville First Coast opened at 11:30 AM with a Welcome by Lanelle Phillmon and the Pledge of Allegiance by Linda Mann. A quorum was present.

<u>The Minutes:</u> Dianne Main seconded the Motion to approve the minutes. All present voted to accept.

<u>Treasurer's Report:</u> Sandy Martin gave the highlights of this past year.

- 1. All local dues will remain the same. This is because there will be no change in the PMP (per member payment) to state and national.
- 2. The use of credit card to pay dues on line has been a great success.
- 3. Club Express, a comprehensive software package to be installed.
- 4. We look forward to face-to-face meetings.

Expenses for the year coming will change in that

Weebly renewal will be for 1 year rather than 2 years. With Club Express we will not need this. The Nonprofit Center of NE FL has been added to Board Development (under Administration). Advocacy & Lobby Days registration are funded by the Doris Singer Fund & restricted to advocating for LWV positions.

Karen Parish seconded the motion to accept the Budget as presented. All members present voted to approve the budget.

<u>Changes To the By-Laws:</u> Lanelle went over the changes to be made to the By-Laws. The following are the changes to be made

• Article IV. Officers (also known as the Executive Committee)

Section 1- Enumeration and Election of Officers. The Officers of the LWV/JFC shall be: President, Vice-President, a Secretary, and a Treasurer, all of whom shall be elected by the general membership at an Annual Meeting and take office immediately. Co-officers are permissible and references herein to any Officers shall include the possibility of Co-Officers. Officers shall be elected for terms of two years....

Article VII. Meetings

Section 2 – Annual Meeting.

a. Elect Officers, Directors and three (3) elected members to the Nominating Committee.

Х

• Article VIII. Nominations and Elections

Section 1 - Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee shall consist of four (4) members, of whom three (3) shall not be members of the Board and one Board member. The three (3) non-Board members shall be elected at the Annual Meeting and one (1) Board shall be appointed after the Annual Meeting. The Nominating Committee Chair will be chosen by the members of the Nominating Committee after the annual meeting.

Section 2 – Report of Nominating Committee and Nominations from the Floor. The report of the Nominating Committee of its nominations for Officers, elected Directors, and the three (3) elected members of the Nominating Committee shall be sent to all members thirty (30) days before the Annual Meeting. Immediately following the presentation of this report, additional nominations may be made by any voting member provided the consent of the nominee shall have been secured.

A Motion to approve all the above changes typed in red was made by Nora Manahan, seconded by Christopher McMartin.

Proposed Nominations to the Board of Directors. A slate of nominees for the year 2021-2022 nominated Board of Directors:

<u>Office</u>	<u>Candidate</u>	Term Ending
Vice-President	Mariette Brodeur	2023
Treasurer	Hattie Kaufman	2023
Director-Environment	Angela DeMonbreun	2023
Director-Communication	Amy Mitchell	2023
Director-Education	Linda Mann	2023
Nominating Committee	Mary Finnan	2022
	Susan Goldring	

A question was posed by Kiki Karpen, if no third director is nominated what will be the solution. The answer is that the problem will be decided by the Nominating Committee after the Annual Meeting.

The motion was approved by acclimation of the membership.

As for the continuing Board Members, they are

President	Lanelle Phillmon	2022
Secretary	Marianna Kane	2022
Director-Membership	Karen Parish	2022
Director-Voter Registration	Dianne Main	2022

Lanelle gave a special thanks to some departing officers, Carol Hamilton, Deb Miller, Mary Mclaughlin and Nora Manahan.

A motion was called by Dianne Main, with a second by Sandy Martin, to adjourn the business portion of the Annual Meeting.

Respectfully submitted, Marianna Kane